Assault and Battery
Assault and Battery Lawyer in Utah
Assault and battery charges are serious allegations that carry harsh consequences if convicted. If you have been arrested for aggravated assault, sexual assault, battery or another violent crime, you need an attorney you can trust to offer you the strongest defense possible.
Assault and Battery Charges
In the state of Utah, assault is considered a Class B misdemeanor that could lead to a jail term of up to 6 months and a fine up to $ 1,000.
Aggravated assault is considered a Third Degree Felony at minimum, which could result in up to five years in prison and up to $ 5,000 in fines plus a 90% surcharge. However, if there was serious bodily injury, aggravated assault can be considered a Second Degree Felony, which is punishable by up to fifteen years in prison and up to $10,000.00 in fines plus a 90% surcharge.
Several factors can influence the severity of the punishment including whether or not the offender was in a position of authority over the victim, whether the offense was exceptionally depraved or cruel, whether the victim was unusually vulnerable, and whether there was sever bodily injury.
Punishment could also be more severe if a child was present during the crime, the offense was committed in prison, the offense is considered a hate crime, the offender is a habitual offender, the offender used a dangerous weapon or if the offense was committed near a school.